What is an internship?

An internship is an opportunity offered by an employer to potential employees, called interns, to work at a firm for a fixed, limited period of time. Interns are usually undergraduates or students, and most internships last for any length of time between one week and 12 months.

Internships allow the student to EXPERIENCE what he/she has previously only read about. This not only is one of the best ways to learn how to perform your job, but it can save you years of misery. Employers are looking for graduates who have some experience in their major field. Students who choose not to do an internship are having more trouble getting jobs out of college. Students who go the internship route are finding jobs easier; some are getting hired straight out of their internship by that organization.

My Story:

I had just completed my SSC exams and was looking for some way to spend my vacations. I wanted to make good use of this opportunity to learn something that will help me in the future. I used to browse the internet daily to see if anything suitable comes up.

But most of the programs were for the undergraduates and not for the ones who have just finished their schooling. Luckily, one fine day, I noticed an internship poster on my schools noticed board. It was an internship opportunity at the nearby NGO. They were looking for someone to manage their data entry process.

I was a dummy and had no idea what data entry was. But I still went ahead and applied for this internship. The internship was for a month. My neighbour helped me prepare my resume which had literally nothing on it. Just the mention of few certificates that I had received during my schooling days.

I was called for an interview. There was a woman sitting in the office. I, again, had no idea about how interviews are conducted and what happens. She asked me some general questions about my personal life and school life. She then asked me if I had any idea about what the job profile is! I answered in negative. She explained me what is to be done and how it is to be done.

I was asked to join the next day. It was an unpaid part time internship. I was happy I just had to work for 5-6 hrs and then go home. The next day, I put on some nice formals and left to go to work.

The place wasn’t much big. There were around 6 to 7 people working in that NGO’s office. I was the only intern. They led me to a table and asked me to settle down. The HR lady who took my interview came and handed me a file which had sheets filled with numbers and names. She taught me how to enter the data into an excel sheet. At first, it wasn’t easy. But, she was always there to guide me.

Days passed and I got better at this job. She also taught me to do some calculations using excel and to maintain records of employees, etc. The place had become like a home to me. The people were very kind and friendly and helpful.

At the end of one month, my internship came to an end. They handed me a certificate and wished me all the best for my career ahead.

It was an amazing experience. Previously finding a perfect place to do your internship was difficult. But now, thanks to Intern Theory, many students can come closer to their dream job.

“I’m sharing my first internship experience for the #MyInternTheory activity at BlogAdda in association with Intern Theory.”