It isn’t easy to be a woman. You are judged every point and every minute of your life. You are judged in everything you do. You are judged if you are with a particular set of people. You are judged based on what you wear, what you eat, what type of people you hangout with, your talking sense or sometimes simply by your looks.


Take a look at some of the startling figures that the Nihar Naturals #IAmCapable survey conducted by Nielsen India reveals:

  1. 69% of men agree that their judgement of women is based on their looks.
  2. 64% of women agree that the judgments passed on them have affected their ability to reach their true potential.
  3. 70%of women agree that majority of judgments on women are from family members or friends rather than strangers.
  4. 72% of women agree that working women face more judgments on their looks or their clothes than housewives.

I have been judged all my life. Growing up in my skin, I had many weird comments being passed at me because of my appearance and behavior.

I used to (and I still) love wearing loose clothes. When I was in college, I had long hair and I usually loved to tie it up. I would oil my hair and tie a nice tight braid. I would wear lose and comfortable jeans and loose t-shirts or kurta’s.

The other girls in my department would wear classy tops and skinny jeans, have a trendy hairstyle and I was completely opposite. People would actually ask me why I didn’t dress up like a college girl and why I dress up like behenji.

The worst thing was I wasn’t allowed to be a bridesmaid for my first cousins wedding because of my looks. I wear spectacles, I was a little overweight and that is why my cousin sister chose her some train friend over me.

We are judged so much on our looks, and nobody even cares about our achievements and talents. I can’t control what other people say to me; I can only work on transforming my reactions.

I never let others comments pull me down. When I was rejected a role in a play because of my looks, I raised my voice. And it was successful. I cleared the audition, got the lead role and the play was a super hit.

Today I am proud of whoever I am. I am comfortable with whatever I wear. I don’t need to prove to anyone anything. If someone says something hurtful, I let them know. I take a breath and ground myself before I respond. I take a stand for myself.

Each day I love myself a little bit more. I become less judgmental. I project this love into the world and in return I receive more kindness than ever before.

“I’m breaking stereotypes based on appearance by sharing my experience for the #IAmCapable activity at BlogAdda in association with Nihar Naturals.”

Share your experience too.