Mumbai, hands down, is the best city in the world. I love living in Mumbai no matter what. I was born and brought up in Mumbai and that is why the city runs in my blood. Mumbai is known as the city that never sleeps. Once you lived in Mumbai and made it your home, no other place is good enough for you.

If you are a Mumbaikar, I am sure you would be a fan of the street food. You must have surely tried at least 3 different types of Mumbai street food in your life. I simply love street food. I know it is not healthy but love is blind.

My college timings were terrible. I used to just have tea and chapatti and leave the house and return for evening tea. Sometimes I used to not even get a chance to have breakfast. My college canteen never restocked food and mostly the afternoon batch stayed hungry.

At such times, it was the street food that came to my rescue. Mumbai is known for its distinctive street foods. People of Mumbai cut across barriers of class, religion, gender and ethnicity are passionate about street food. Lanes with a sizable cluster of street food stalls are known as “Khau Galli’s” locally.

Here is a list of the fantastico street food found in Mumbai. There are countless variety of street food found in Mumbai but the one’s on this list are my favorites.

  • Paani Puri

Paani Puri tops my list. Pani Puri is my most favorite chaat from childhood. I used to have pani puri often with my family on the streets of Mumbai and it was something I have thoroughly enjoyed. I can eat almost 60 puris in one go. My mom prepares the most fantastico paani puri ever. I don’t know who invented pani puri or how it came into existence. It’s one of the popular street foods of India. Whereas in Mumbai, we call it Pani Puri. In the northern states it’s called as Golgappa and in Bengal, it’s called as Puchka. (correct me if I’m wrong)

Credits:- Unknown
  • Chinese Bhel

Chinese Bhel is an Indian fast food originated from Mumbai. I am currently eating Chinese Bhel as I write this post. Chinese bhel has become a hot favorite among youngsters. Crispy noodles mixed with Schezwan sauce and veggie, that’s it, and you get a fantastico mouth watering dish.
Credits:- Unknown
  • Pav Bhaji

Pav Bhaji originated in Mumbai. Pav Bhaji is a famous street food in Mumbai. It is a colorful mixture of many vegetables. It is a good for health. Pav Bhaji is a quick snack available on every street corner. Pav bhaji with extra butter is one of Mumbai’s hottest selling fast food and street food. One plate of Pav Bhaji is enough to make your tummy full.

Credits:- Unknown
  • Misal Pav

Misal pav is one of the traditional Maharashtrian dish and also a popular Mumbai Street Food. Misal is a lip-smacking cocktail of savories and sprouts. Misal Pav is also known for its high nutrition value. Misal Pav” is relished as a breakfast as well as a snack throughout Maharashtra. Every Saturday is Misal Pav day at my dwelling.

Credits:- Unknown
  • Masala Cheese Toast Sandwich

Two slices of bread stuffed with butter, potato filling, spicy green chutney and lots of cheese and heated in a grill sandwich maker and served with sev and sauce, this is the definition of awesomeness. Also called as Bombay Masala Toast, this is a popular vegetable sandwich found in Mumbai. The roadside sandwiches in Mumbai though, have a story of their own. There are unlimited variations of sandwich: butter, mayonnaise, cheese, schezwan, toasted, grilled, egg, vegetable but my favorite is Masala Cheese Toast Sandwich.


Credits:- Unknown

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.


To be continued……